28 ships included in new US sanctions against North Korea

The US administration of President Donald Trump is ratcheting up sanctions on North Korea with measures that hit shipping strongly, according to Reuters.

These actions, intended to discourage North Korea from its nuclear weapons program, involve the US Treasury targeting one person, 27 companies and 28 ships.

Sanctions prohibit US citizens from dealing with those entities. They also involve assets that those firms hold in the US being blocked.

One of the aims is to make it more difficult for North Korean ships to smuggle coal and other fuel imports.

The ships in question are flagged, registered or located in North Korea, China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Panama, Taiwan, Tanzania, Comoros and the Marshall Islands.

Donal Scully

With 28 years experience writing and editing for newspapers in the UK and Hong Kong, Donal is now based in California from where he covers the Americas for Splash as well as ensuring the site is loaded through the Western Hemisphere timezone.
Back to top button