Greater China

Bjorn Hojgaard named chairman of Hong Kong Shipowners Association

Anglo-Eastern chief executive officer Bjorn Hojgaard has been appointed chairman of the Hong Kong Shipowners Association (HKSOA).

Hojgaard steps into the position to replace Oak’s Jack Hsu after serving two years as the association’s deputy chairman. He is the first non-shipowner to chair the association since Anglo-Eastern’s Peter Cremers in 2007.

Looking ahead, Valles Steamship’s Wellington Koo is likely to succeed Hojgaard after being named the association’s deputy chairman.

“It is an honour and a privilege to be able to lead the Hong Kong Shipowners Association as Chairman into the next decade,” Hojgaard said of his appointment.

“As a major trade association representing the local shipping industry, the HKSOA always strives to promote its members’ interests and augment Hong Kong’s role as a leading maritime centre, which I am committed to furthering in tandem with shaping a better maritime future,” he added.

Grant Rowles

Grant spent nine years at Informa Group based in London, Sydney, Hong Kong and Singapore. He gained strong management experience in publishing, conferences and awards schemes in the shipping and legal areas, working on a number of titles including Lloyd's List. In 2009 Grant joined Seatrade responsible for the commercial development of Seatrade’s Asia products. In 2012, with Sam Chambers, he co-founded Asia Shipping Media.
Back to top button