Glen Ole Rødland replaces John Fredriksen as chairman of Seadrill

John Fredriksen’s Seadrill has announced the appointment of Glen Ole Rødland as chairman of the company, succeeding Fredriksen effective today.

Rødland is currently chairman of offshore accomodation specialist Prosafe and consultancy AqualisBraemar, and is a former partner of Ferncliff and HitecVision.

Commenting on the change, Fredriksen said: “I have been actively involved with Seadrill during the 14 years since its inception. While I have now decided to spend less time on board seats, my close involvement and strong support of Seadrill will remain unchanged. I will continue to push for business optimization, strategic initiatives such as the recent joint ventures with Sonangol and GDI, and consolidation in the sector.”

Additionally, Harald Thorstein will step down as non-executive director of Seadrill and be replaced by Gunnar Winther Eliassen who is employed with Fredriksen’s Seatankers.

Anton Dibowitz, CEO of Seadrill, commented: “John handing over the Chairmanship to Glen, is for us very much business as usual. Hemen remains our anchor shareholder. I will continue to have a close dialogue with John and benefit from his input and perspectives. On a personal level, I would like to extend my thanks and gratitude to John for his leadership of the board to date. I would like to welcome Glen and I look forward to working together.”

Grant Rowles

Grant spent nine years at Informa Group based in London, Sydney, Hong Kong and Singapore. He gained strong management experience in publishing, conferences and awards schemes in the shipping and legal areas, working on a number of titles including Lloyd's List. In 2009 Grant joined Seatrade responsible for the commercial development of Seatrade’s Asia products. In 2012, with Sam Chambers, he co-founded Asia Shipping Media.
Back to top button